Bed of roses, sweet little rose accent pillows

23 Jan

Felt Flower pillow tutorial - Roses

It was finally time…my daughter has been in her toddler bed for quite some time and has had the same bedding since before she was born, so if anything new bedding  was overdue. I wasn’t quite ready to move her to a larger bed but her Glenna Jean bedding I “just had to have” was worn thin. I looked everywhere for quality toddler bedding with no luck everything seemed to have a negative thread count, rough, cheap and thin. And in today’s economy I wasn’t about to spend $400 on a nice crib set.

That’s when I decided to make my own, not the fitted sheet mind you I simply bought a new crib sheet, I am not insane enough to attempt such a sewing feat, not yet anyway. The blanket was super easy I just made a large pillow case shape out of 2 yards of  fabric and filled it with batting and tied it down with cross stitch thread to prevent shifting. I then made a bed skirt out of tulle and ribbon, but something was still missing, that’s when I thought of the little felt rosettes I had been searching for an application for and made some lovely accent pillows. I am thrilled with how they turned out. You could really use these rosettes on anything but I think these little pillows are sweet and would make a lovely Valentines Day decoration or gift.

For one pillow you will need:

7 sheets felt (I used pink tutu)

Stuffing

Matching thread/Sewing needle

Sewing machine (ok that’s optional I guess, but making pillows can be a pain without it)

Step 1:

Cut as many small circles approx 2 inches in diameter as you can from one of your felt sheets.

Cut as many circles approx 3 inches in diameter from another  2 felt sheets

Cut as many circles approx 4 inches in diameter as you can from your 4th  and 5th felt sheet

You can free hand these they do not need to be exact.

Step 2:

Cut all circles into whirls as shown below, the less cutting you do the better your rose will look. I know it seems like the opposite would be true but too many whirls in the circle make for a very small tight rose.

Step 3:

Thread and knot your needle.

Starting from the small end roll your cut circle until you reach the fat middle piece, wrap around the outside and sew through your rose on each side to hold into place knot and begin the next one. After about two this becomes very easy and can be done while watching your favorite movie.

Step :4

Hand stitch all of your roses onto one half of your pillow leaving a 1/4″ seam allowance around the edges.

Step 5

Place your pillow pieces right sides together and sew around outer edges leaving space to stuff. Turn right side out stuff and sew closed.Felt Flowers - bed of roses felt throw pillow tutorial

Variations on the theme:

Try making a shape or a letter from the roses as I have shown on the center pillow.

pink felt rose pillows

If sewing pillows is too daunting you can always make small drawer sachet by scaling down the project and making only small roses and stuffing with potpourri.

I think this would also make a great wall hanging using your childs initial.

Happy Valentine’s day!

Felt Flower Rose throw pillows

You may also enjoy:

Felt Hydrangea Flower Bouquet - felt flower tutorial

Felt Hydrangea Bouquet 

See over 150 felt flower tutorials on our Pintrest Felt Flowers Board

20 Responses to “Bed of roses, sweet little rose accent pillows”

  1. joyfulwriter January 31, 2010 at 9:38 am #

    These are so cute! I think I’m going to have to make a few. Turning them into sachets is such a good idea too!

  2. ginger February 1, 2010 at 8:48 am #

    How cute! Love this idea for a little girls room and the topper tutu awesome idea!

  3. Ruthie February 3, 2010 at 8:52 am #

    These pillows are just darling! Do you think you could also provide a tutorial on the tulle bedskirt? In particular, I was wondering how you stiched the ribbon to the tulle– did you use a machine or by hand?

    • americanfeltandcraft February 3, 2010 at 10:05 am #

      The bed skirt was so easy you don’t even need a tutorial. You’ll need a big spool of ribbon about 13.5 yards.
      fabric for a deck, and lots of tulle.
      I made a deck for the skirt from fabric roughly 51″ x 28″ (because it was a crib mattress) you will want to sew up the sides of the deck to keep it from unraveling unless your using a fabric that doesn’t unravel.
      I then took tulle from a bolt and cut two pieces each 153″ (3x length of deck) and two pieces 84″ (3 x width of deck) and machine sewed ribbon to the 2 rough edges each facing a different direction so when you piece is laid out flat you would see the right side and the wrong side ribbon. Double the the tulle over on itself and hand gather until your sides measure 51″ and your ends measure 28″ pin making sure both right sides of ribbon face out and stitch into place along your deck it doesn’t matter which side since the deck will be invisible. (just make sure all your ribbon is facing shiny side outward)
      * I suppose you could hand stitch the ribbon to the tulle but it would take FOREVER and the stitches wouldn’t be very tight.
      Enjoy!

  4. Gremlina February 5, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    sew beautiful 😉 !

  5. kayellen February 8, 2010 at 6:23 pm #

    I love your sweet Pink pillows~~So pretty on a bed of white:)

    Hugs,
    Kay Ellen

  6. DEborah February 13, 2010 at 9:16 pm #

    Can you direct me to someplace on your website where it gives the SIZE of the wool sheets that are on sale?

    Are they 6″ square or 30″ square or ????

    It’s late. I’m sure I”m looking straight at it….

    • americanfeltandcraft February 14, 2010 at 11:29 am #

      Sorry I will go through to make sure it’s more clear, all our felt sheets are 9″x 12″ a little larger than a sheet of paper, we also have yardage in limited colors and can special order yardage, please email, customerservice@feltandcraft.com if you’d like to special order any color our in stock yardage will show on the store page under that color.

  7. urban craft February 13, 2010 at 9:58 pm #

    these are soooooooooooooo gorgeous! I have seen something like this but have not attempted. Thank you for making everything so easy to follow. I can’t work patterns to save my life but I can do this!

  8. a February 28, 2010 at 8:43 am #

    After reading you site, Your site is very useful for me .I bookmarked your site!

  9. elena March 4, 2010 at 4:20 am #

    super!super! foarte interesant! vreau sa incerc si eu .

  10. Abby March 11, 2010 at 7:04 am #

    Those pillows are gorgeous! What a lucky little girl… I agree with the previous comment about the white bed. It’s so simple and classy, yet the perfect little girl room!! I will definitely be trying this for my room and sharing it with others… and I’m sixteen!

  11. Ana&Lucia March 20, 2010 at 4:40 am #

    lindo espaço.Adorei.Sou de Salvador,Bahia/Brasil.

  12. bengovil March 31, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    muhteşem çok beğendim paylaşım için teşekkür ederim

  13. geek girl June 14, 2011 at 2:34 am #

    Nice Blog with Excellent information

  14. thefeltbutterfly April 5, 2018 at 9:59 am #

    Love this!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Felt Gerbera Daisies – Lazy Daisies of Summer « American Felt and Craft- The Blog - May 29, 2012

    […] Felt Rosette Accent Pillow Tutorial […]

  2. S. Valentino: regali fai da te · Pane, Amore e Creatività - February 9, 2018

    […] Link Tutorial […]

Leave a Reply