Printable Sheep Embroidery Thread Bobbins

12 Nov

Printable bobbins for thread

There are a ton of advantages to using embroidery thread for felt projects – not only are the skeins of thread inexpensive but they come in a huge variety of colors and are easy to store. The biggest problem with embroidery is its tendency to get tangled once they are stripped of their paper cuffs.

Rein in your threads Bo Peep style with these printable felt sheep bobbins.

Sheep shaped bobbins

I tried printing these on cardstock but found it too flimsy for the larger skeins.

Thin chipboard proved to be the perfect material for this project and I think the natural brown color looks awesome on these little guys.

thread bobbins

I won’t lie to you dear reader these a pain to cut out but hopefully you need less than I did.

But come on they are crazy cute right and over 100 sheep later I have no regrets!

While we’re on the subject here’s how to move that thread from skein to bobbin without finding yourself surrounded by tangled threads and tears…not that that happened to me like 25 times or anything.

ANYWAY

sheep bobbins

Slip one cuff off at a time taking care not to distort or twist the thread too much. Keep the thread in its circle and look for the shortest thread along the top. It should come apart smoothly.

Print at size

Print at full size

Happy Crafting!

~Andie

American Felt and Craft online felt and craft store , over 100 colors of felt by the sheet! Ships worldwide.

4 Responses to “Printable Sheep Embroidery Thread Bobbins”

  1. Jenni P November 12, 2013 at 6:35 pm #

    SO CUTE! Thanks!

  2. bragger1989 November 13, 2013 at 11:05 am #

    How can I get the full-size file? I don’t seem to be able to open it full-size??

  3. Erika November 16, 2013 at 12:19 pm #

    You should make this an SVG file so it can be cut on the silhouette using chipboard… would totally rock! In fact I think I will do just that!

Leave a Reply